GORGUTS/DYSRHYTHMIA Guitarist Releases Second Solo Album

Kevin Hufnagel (DYSRHYTHMIA, GORGUTS) has just released his second solo guitar album, "Transparencies", via his own imprint, Nightfloat Recordings. The effort can be streamed in full and purchased at BandCamp.com, along with Hufnagel's past recordings, including a rare, self-released cassette demo from 1997, titled "While I Wait".

An album preview trailer for "Transparencies" — created by Romanian artist Costin Chioreanu and using photography taken by Hufnagel — can be viewed below.

For "Transparencies", Hufnagel decided to work primarily with electric guitar as opposed to his last release "Songs For The Disappeared", which was entirely acoustic-based. The concept this time was to create dark and lush tapestries of sound, rich with texture, but without forsaking melody and detail to composition. Recorded at home by Hufnagel himself, the album displays his knack for using experimental guitar ideas and minimal recording techniques to craft strangely beautiful soundworlds.

"Transparencies" track listing:

01. Sunshower (02:48)
02. Ever Rest (05:10)
03. Arferno (05:12)
04. Slow Motion Return (03:59)
05. Passing On (02:46)
06. Static Aquarium (04:26)
07. Early Light (05:12)
08. The Bell Garden (04:19)
09. Station Hum (03:35)
10. Seen From A Distance (03:41)
11. Aftermath (03:31)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).