EPICA Guitarist Says 'It Won't Take Long' For Work To Begin On Follow-Up To 'The Holographic Principle'

EPICA Guitarist Says 'It Won't Take Long' For Work To Begin On Follow-Up To 'The Holographic Principle'

EPICA guitarist Mark Jansen says that "it won't take long" for the band to begin writing material for the follow-up to 2016's "The Holographic Principle" album.

EPICA's latest release was "The Solace System" EP, featuring six songs which were created during the sessions for "The Holographic Principle".

Asked in a new interview with Metal Wani if there are any plans for EPICA to commence the songwriting process for the group's next full-length album, Mark said (hear audio below): "We're gonna keep touring till September and then we're gonna take a little time off. We have been touring for 16 years constantly — recording and touring — and now we feel like it's time to do a little break — not too long — a little break to recharge the batteries, and then during the break, we will probably already start composing for the next album. But that little break will give us some opportunities for the side projects — like, Simone [Simons, vocals] wants to do something, I have MAYAN, Rob [Van Der Loo, bass] has some side project, Ariën [Van Weesenbeek], the drummer, is also in MAYAN. So everybody will fill in that little break in a different way. But I'm already feeling like wanting to write new music. So it won't take long."

On Saturday, April 14, EPICA will celebrate its 1000th-show anniversary at 013 in Tilburg, the Netherlands. Support at the gig will come from MYRKUR, OCEANS OF SLUMBER, LACUNA COIL, MAYAN and NIGHTMARE.

Nearly all 12 of the songs on "The Holographic Principle" were based around the idea that everything in the universe could be a computer-generated hologram. "With the new technology and virtual reality glasses, we realize reality is generated so perfectly that you can no longer tell the difference, so can reality also be a hologram?" Simons said in a 2016 interview.

EPICA last fall completed "The Ultimate Principle" North American tour with LACUNA COIL as co-headliners. INSOMNIUM and ELANTRIS provided direct support.

"The Solace System" was recorded, mixed and mastered by Joost van den Broek and Jacob Hansen.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).