DETONATION Announces Lineup Changes

Guitarist Mike Ferguson of the Dutch death/thrash metal act DETONATION has issued the following update:

"We have some good and some sad news!

"Sad news first... we parted ways with three band members recently. Danny [Tunker; guitar) and Michiel [van der Plicht; drums] have gone on to seek their fame and fortune with GOD DETHRONED and PROSTITUTE DISFIGUREMENT. Due to their busy schedules, it was impossible to keep playing in DETONATION. However, we parted as friends and wish them good luck and much success in these bands.

"Also, after 12 years in DETONATION, Otto [Schimmelpenninck; bass] has decided to leave the band. His busy schedule with DELAIN prohibited his 100 percent focus and attention for DETONATION, and as he did not think this was fair towards us, he respectfully gave up his role as bass player for DETONATION. We will miss Otto as a friend and also wish him much success with DELAIN!

"Then the good news! Koen [Romeijn, vocals] and I have no intention on quitting, quite the contrary, we are more focused and determined than before. We have been practicing with new musicians for a month or so, and it is going great.

"On drums we welcome Allard van der Kuip, known from Utrecht band GRINDPAD. And on bass we welcome Harry van Breda.

"Harry is known as the vocalist in I-CHAOS, and also the guy that recorded and mixed our new album, 'Reprisal'. Both new guys come from our town Utrecht, and have been friends of the band since quite a while. Together with Allard and Harry, we are driven and focused to get DETONATION back on track, playing gigs and kicking ass!

"We are very happy with the new guys in the band, and are eager to get our killer new album, 'Reprisal' (check out the cover artwork by Eliran Kantor below, release date soon to be announced) to you.

"Thank you all for your patience, we’ll make sure it will all be worth the wait!"

"Reprisal" track listing:

01. Enslavement
02. No Turning Back
03. Feeding On The Madness
04. Ruptured
05. Absentia Mentis
06. Washing Away The Blood
07. Falling Prey
08. Insults To My Heritage

The song "No Turning Back" is available for streaming on DETONATION's MySpace page.

DETONATION's previous album, "Emission Phase", was released on April 30, 2007. The CD was recorded with Split Second Sound's Jochem Jacobs (also guitar player for TEXTURES) and Bouke Visser. The cover artwork was created by Eliran Kantor.

"Emission Phase" was DETONATION's third and final album for French underground label Osmose Productions.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).