COAL CHAMBER Frontman Creates 'New Sound' With Side Project

California's DEATHRIDE, the new project featuring COAL CHAMBER frontman Dez Fafara, are set to begin performing showcase gigs beginning in early October with a view towards signing a record deal and issuing a CD in early 2003.

The band, which is based in a small town three hours north of Los Angeles, came together when "[guitarist] Dragon left a note with a waitress at a small breakfast place where [Dez's girlfriend] Anahstasia and I eat in the morning when I'm off tour," stated Fafara. "We became friends. After about a year, we started writing together, then recruited the best of the best from all the bands around town. [Guitarist] Sleeper and [drummer] Junk played in a band together and [bassist] Shak was also in another band. We all just kind of hit it off. The one common unity in all of us is we wanted to do something ultra-heavy and try if we could to form a new sound. I think we've done it."

So far, DEATHRIDE have completed nearly two dozen cuts for their forthcoming debut, which will reportedly feature a more aggressive and more technical direction than that of Fafara's main outfit.

Among the tracks set to appear on the band's upcoming CD are the following:

01. Devil's Son
02. Swinging The Dead
03. Revelation Machine
04. Driving Down The Darkness
05. The Misery
06. What Does It Take To Be A Man
07. Shine
08. Give It
09. Clearly
10. The Darkness

When asked about the rumors that PANTERA/DOWN frontman Phil Anselmo would be making an appearance on DEATHRIDE's full-length debut, Dez stated: "Phil's one of my closest friends. I'd be honored if he'd sing on [a] DEATHRIDE [album], and of course I'm going to ask him. We have the perfect song for it. It's called 'What Does It Take To Be A Man'."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).