CANDLEMASS: 'Essential' Collection To Include Brand New Song

GMR Music has set a November 22 release date for CANDLEMASS' "Essential Doom" CD, a posthumous collection of the group's best material plus their newly recorded and previously unreleased song "Witches". The album will come with a bonus DVD featuring video footage of the band's performance at the Rock Hard Festival in Germany in 2003.

"Witches" — one of two songs laid down during a quick demo session in August 2003 (the other being "Born In A Tank") — was "[written] in [the] true CANDLEMASS style," according to mainman Leif Edling, featuring "both heavy and hard passages, lots of negative riffing, melody and slow doomy choruses."

"Essential Doom" (view cover here) track listing:

Disc 1:

01. Solitude
02. Crystal Ball
03. A Sorcerers Pledge
04. Gothic Stone
05. The Well of Souls
06. Bewitched
07. At the Gallows End
08. Samarithan
09. Mirror Mirror
10. Ancient Dreams
11. The Prophecy
12. Dark Reflections
13. Into the Unfathomed Tower
14. Witches

Disc 2: DVD / Live from the 2003 Rock Hard Festival

01. The Well of Souls
02. Dark Are the Veils of Death
03. Mirror Mirror
04. A Sorcerers Pledge
05. At the Gallows End

(Thanks: Johan Sandstedt)


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).