BEHLER: 'Messages To The Dead' Release Date Announced

BEHLER the Canadian band featuring the former EXCITER drummer/vocalist Dan Beehler, AGGRESSOR bassist Brian Stephenson and guitarists Sean Brophy and Scott Walsh will release its debut album, "Messages To The Dead", on December 5 via the German label High Roller Records. The effort will contain 12 songs and will be made available on both LP and CD.

"Messages To The Dead" track listing:

01. Jet Black
02. March Of Death
03. Eternal Tormentor
04. Message To The Dead
05. Destitude Abuser
06. In Know One We Trust
07. Organized Mayhem
08. Destroy
09. Megalodon
10. Save Me From Myself
11. Kill The Witch
12. The End Of The World

BEHLER has already started working on its next studio album, which will mark a return to the classic EXCITER sound of the "Unveiling The Wicked" and "Long Live The Loud" LPs.

Commented Dan: "I vowed never to play again after EXCITER. My brother Richard was my mentor and fourth silent member of EXCITER, co-writing songs such as 'Under Attack' and 'Rain Of Terror'. He was the only reason I ever went anywhere in music. He did all the grunt work for EXCITER, critiqued every song and never missed a rehearsal. He begged me to do another album and play METAL again. I said no!

"When he passed away, Scott Walsh threw me in his studio, put the sticks back in my hands and said, 'Do it for your brother and call it 'BEHLER.'

"Sean Brophy picked me up, gave me my confidence back. He worked like a dog, dedicated his life to BEHLER. He kicked my ass, never gave up and without him there would be no BEHLER. Together with Al Johnson [former BEHLER/EXCITER bassist Allan Johnson] and Scott, they gave me an opportunity to play metal once more. I owe them and my family so much!

"This was Richard's dream, his spirit lives through these recordings. I even dug up his old lyrics once again and added them to 'Kill The Witch'.

"'Messages To The Dead' explains the communication existed and we truly believe he is at the helm of BEHLER.

"Every song on this album was written about people who have touched my life, singing and recording it was an emotional roller coaster for me.

"For myself and the band, it goes much deeper than a collection of songs. The guys understand the journey that I'm on, driven by you know who!

"Richard, your spirit created this album..."

BEHLER's sound is described in a press release as "a journey from speed to doom, heavily saluting their mentors like JUDAS PRIEST, IRON MAIDEN and MOTRHEAD." "All we want to do is bring it back as a tribute to our metal heroes," the band said.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).