AVA INFERI Adds Female Bassist

AVA INFERI, the Portugal-based band whose lineup includes Norwegian guitarist Rune Eriksen (a.k.a. ex-MAYHEM guitarist/songwriter Blasphemer), has announced the addition of female bassist Joana Messias to the group's ranks.

AVA INFERI will hold a CD-release party for its fourth album, "Onyx", on Saturday, February 19, 2011 at Side B Bar in Benavente, Portugal. The band will perform a lengthy set consisting mostly of material from the new CD.

"Onyx" will be released on February 14 (February 15 in the U.S.) via Season Of Mist.

The track listing is as follows:

01. Onyx
02. The Living End
03. A Portal
04. ((Ghostlights))
05. Majesty
06. The Heathen Island
07. By Candlelight & Mirrors
08. Venice in Fog

Check out the cover artwork below.

Commented Eriksen: "(Witch)Crafted and dragged into sunlight by Costin Chioreanu / Twilight13Media (ABSU, GRAVE, DEMONICAL), this illustration portraits a more eerie visual side of AVA INFERI than our previous arts. A mysterious and sinister approach to AVA INFERI's aesthetics indeed. I really feel that it connects with the album on a musical and lyrical level, too, as it is creating some sort of a window into the fields of the inspirations behind this new offering.

"We have always dwelled in the more obscure side of things, and even though we have weaved an occasional Wiccan flame or Bacchanalian praise into our arts, we've always cherished and explored the aspects of 'horror.' With 'Onyx' we have definitely gone deeper into it. Anyway, Costin (who also did the clip for 'Last Sign of Summer') has really done a great job, and we are thankful and grateful for the dedication and hard work he put into this work. Multumesc foarte mult!!"


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).