AUTOPSY: Quality Footage From NEUROTIC DEATHFEST Posted Online

Quality video footage of AUTOPSY's performance at this year's edition of the Neurotic Deathfest, which was held April 29-30, 2011 at 013 and MIDI theatre in Tilburg, Holland, can be viewed below (courtesy of "letthedeathmetalflow").

"Macabre Eternal", the first full-length album from the legendary San Francisco Bay Area gore grind act AUTOPSY since 1995's "Shitfun", will be released on May 31 via Peaceville Records. A special vinyl edition of the effort will precede the digital versions exclusively through the Peaceville web store on May 16.

"Macabre Eternal" was recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California and includes AUTOPSY's first 10-plus minute song "Sadistic Gratification". "It's 11 minutes and 33 seconds of pure fucking sickness," guitarist Eric Cutler told Invisible Oranges.

"Our fans can expect no less than our best, the best we have to offer," Cutler added. "If you like AUTOPSY, you will think this is the best."

"Macabre Eternal" track listing:

01. Hand Of Darkness
02. Dirty Gore Whore
03. Always About To Die
04. Macabre Eternal
05. Deliver Me From Sanity
06. Seeds Of The Doomed
07. Bridge Of Bones
08. Born Undead
09. Sewn Into One
10. Bludgeoned and Brained
11. Sadistic Gratification
12. Spill My Blood

The song "Always About To Die" can now be streamed at BrooklynVegan.

AUTOPSY drummer/vocalist Chris Reifert previously said about "Macabre Eternal": "We've brewed up the sickest and heaviest material that our rotten souls could possibly spew forth, and we are confident that it's our best stuff yet. The EP was a taste of what's to come, but now it's time for the full assault from beyond the grave."

He continued, "The album will contain no repeated EP tracks, no re-recorded old songs, no triggered trickery, and nothing less than the pure death metal brutality that AUTOPSY has always delivered."

AUTOPSY had previously decided to make an official comeback after working together on two songs for the special 20th-anniversary edition of debut album, "Severed Survival", in late 2008; the band having originally split before the release of its fourth album, "Shitfun", in 1995. A five-song EP, "The Tomb Within", came out last September and saw the original trio of Chris Reifert, Danny Coralles and Eric Cutler joined on bass by Joe Trevisano (ex-ABSCESS).

"I usually cringe when I hear 'reunion' or 'reformed' or whatever," Reifert told Decibel. "It usually means people are out of ideas. We really have no interest in reliving the past. That's what was cool about the songs just coming to us instead of our trying to force it. We can't tour, and if we could, we still wouldn't want to. But as long as we enjoy recording, we're going to stay at it. It's not a one-off or a two-off or whatever. Right now, there's a lot of energy in the band, and it's not going away anytime soon. We have a few things to take care of, for sure."


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).