AS I LAY DYING: More Studio Footage Posted Online

The fifth in a series of webisodes featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the recording sessions for "The Powerless Rise" — the new album from San Diego metallers AS I LAY DYING — can be viewed below.

Fans have options for "The Powerless Rise" as a variety of special pre-order packages are now available, including "The Powerless Rise" CD plus an autographed booklet and a t-shirt or the deluxe fan box which allows fans to receive the album now (physical CD with autographed booklet). In addition, the digital pre-order is now available on iTunes.

To check out all of the new offerings, visit

AS I LAY DYING's fifth full-length album, "The Powerless Rise" is scheduled for release on May 11 via Metal Blade Records. The band recently finished up the recording process in San Diego with producer Adam Dutkiewicz (KILLSWITCH ENGAGE) and mixed the effort with Colin Richardson and his assistant Martyn "Ginge" Ford.

"We wanted to make sure our songwriting progressed and I feel we've achieved our goal in creating an album with greater intensity than any we've crafted before it," explains AS I LAY DYING frontman Tim Lambesis. "We added layers and complexity to the melodies and yet we were able to do so without softening our sound like so many of our peers."

He adds, "Lyrically, 'The Powerless Rise' includes some of the most straight-forward songs I've ever written.

"I can honestly say that I am more excited about 'The Powerless Rise' than any release before it — I can't wait to unleash it on our fans."

"The Powerless Rise" track listing:

01. Beyond Our Suffering
02. Anodyne Sea
03. Without Conclusion
04. Parallels
05. The Plague
06. Anger and Apathy
07. Condemned
08. Upside Down Kingdom
09. Vacancy
10. The Only Constant Is Change
11. The Blinding Of False Light

AS I LAY DYING will launch a headlining U.S. tour April 29 in Tucson, Arizona. The trek, wrapping May 22 in Las Vegas, will feature support acts DEMON HUNTER, BLESSTHEFALL and WAR OF AGES.

AS I LAY DYING's critically and commercially acclaimed release "An Ocean Between Us" landed the No. 8 position on the Billboard Top 200 chart its first week out, making it the highest rock debut on the chart that week. The band's first-ever DVD, "This is Who We Are", entered the Billboard Top Music Videos chart at the No. 2 position in the U.S. and the No. 3 position in Canada. The DVD is also certified platinum in the United States and Canada by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). In addition, 2008 saw AS I LAY DYING earn a Grammy nomination for "Best Metal Performance" for the single "Nothing Left".


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).