01. Insomnia
02. Light that Burns the Sky
03. Inverted
04. Acedia
05. Dysphoria
06. Saphris
07. Fractured
08. Thalamus
09. Grieving the Loss of Self
10. Mordrake I: Reverie
11. Mordrake II: Acquiesce

RATING: 8/10

Someone at UNIQUE LEADER deserves a medal for the insane number of killer bands that the label has been pushing over the last few years. The current rude health of the death metal scene can definitely be attributed, in part, to the advancement of bands like XENOBIOTIC: obvious students of the post-millennial deathcore and tech-death era, but also a band that have a clear and admirable desire to wring something fresh from such a well-established list of components. Having made a strong impression (with many fans of technical death metal and deathcore at least) with their vicious 2018 album "Prometheus", this Australian quintet have plenty of momentum at this point, and "Mordrake" is the kind of mature and ambitious follow-up that should keep them heading onwards and upwards.

Immaculately produced and exerting some sickening sonic weight, songs like "Light that Burns the Sky" skim across genres with insouciant skill, taking in balls-out melodic death metal, hazy post-metal grandeur and machine-gun beatdowns, all within five succinct minutes. "Inverted" is a more streamlined and violent affair, imbued with the lurch 'n' snap of post-djent riffing but immersed in coruscating blackness, too. XENOBIOTIC exhibit even more progressive flair during the gloomy sprawl of "Saphris" and the deathly sci-fi travelogue of the closing, two-part title track, both of which belie that pesky deathcore tag by being fascinating, intricate and profoundly atmospheric. Vocalist TJ Sinclair acquits himself brilliantly, eschewing guttural slurry in favor of a grim, militaristic bark that ensures that every vocal hook obliterates its target. Inbuilt extremity aside, XENOBIOTIC have room for subtlety too: the textural discord that oozes from the speakers during "Acedia" is genuinely unnerving, like some warped, microtonal weapon of warfare; "Grieving the Loss of Self" is as harrowing as its title suggests, but with sledgehammer riffs and crazed velocity to spare; "Fractured" is a frantic blizzard of corkscrew polyrhythms, off-beam grooves and blackened, spidery guitar figures.

"Mordrake" never conforms to any particular one-track trend, but neither does it forget to punch the crap out of everything and everyone. This is a smart, creative and deep record from a band with bags of imagination and the chops to deliver a serious, deathly kicking. Superior stuff, then.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).