"Imperium Simulacra"

(Season of Mist)

01. Imperium Simulacra
02. Challenger Deep
03. Fathoms Below
04. Eye Among the Blind
05. The Messenger
06. Obsolete
07. Dark Shine
08. Sentinel (Infinite Observer)
09. Technical Demise

RATING: 8.5/10

It's been five years since BLACK COBRA released its last album, "Invernal", and the band's return means a hell of a lot to the sludge underground. If you're unfamiliar with BLACK COBRA, the band is the bombastic duo from San Francisco: guitarist Jason Landrian, formerly of CAVITY, and drummer Rafael Martinez, one-time bassist for ACID KING. Their scorching new album "Imperium Simulacra" finds the pair in peak condition and willing to thrash as much as trudge.

The album opens with the blisteringly abrasive title track "Imperium Simulacra", a speedy track reminiscent of HIGH ON FIRE—it's a mauler. Landrian's rasps differ in pitch from Matt Pike's and his riffs are hurled in a higher key, but otherwise, this one's a similar discharge of shredding fun. Next up, "Challenger Deep" is a pumping song that will satiate both sludge heads and thrashers. Rafael Martinez rips into a fast pound following a trudging intro and repeats the cycle for a second round. Jason Landrian woofs and snarls while dishing up tasty riffs worthy of KYLESA and even FU MANCHU. "The Messenger" offers more bombastic deep drum tones reminiscent of a dessert session, while promoting inescapable headbanging.

The 8:26 "Fathoms Below" works itself through slower albeit denser progressions. Again, BLACK COBRA mirrors KYLESA as Jason Landrian and Rafael Martinez noodle and jam for two minutes before assuming a winding course, one that grows louder yet more complex. The blustery course they set drops them into a raging sequence of harrying notes before BLACK COBRA hammers it all to gory pieces. Later in the album, Landrian and Martinez make it a point to drone through the 7:15 "Dark Shine" for five minutes with brutal slide chords and slow clubbing before momentarily hitting the thrusters. "Dark Shine" finishes where it begins, fading into a psychedelic ether.

As fast as much of the preceding songs are, "Obsolete" goes into hyperdrive as Rafael Martinez floors the gas even harder, plowing into grind turf. The choruses, while slower, are still rock ‘em sock ‘em and "Obsolete" is freaking fierce. Churning the hell out of "Sentinel (Infinite Observer) " for bars on end, Jason Landrian manages to squeeze in a moment of grandeur with guitar work kissed by the astronomic planes. It's a moment to inhale and savor, as "Technical Demise" wraps this album with a frenzied bang.

Straight-up, BLACK COBRA decimates every square inch of "Imperium Simulacra" and woe be to any act daring to slot them as openers. Jason Landrian and Rafael Martinez are absolute monsters with veteran touring cred; anyone following these dudes is set upon the mean task of trying to outclass them.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).