"How Do You Like the Sound of That"


01. Tough Guy
02. Rambler
03. Man On the Road
04. She Drank That Wine
05. What Went Wrong
06. S.A.P.O.
07. Moonshine
08. Through and Through
09. How Do You Like the Sound of That
10. Amplified Boogie
11. Sickness

RATING: 8/10

Quick, somebody send a team of scientists down to Austin to interrogate these three crazy Ortiz brothers, because apparently they've developed a time machine. How else to explain how they've made a record that sounds like they snuck into the studio while BLACK SABBATH took a drug break from their first album sessions, and knocked out a Texas boogie-rock call to arms in about a take in a half, using the same amps and mikes? This is some exultant lo-fi denim rock that crackles and sparks with more raw drunken moxie than any ten fat ‘n sated stoner rock efforts.

Like any power trio worth its salt, AMPLIFIED HEAT play it slippery and funky, organic as hell, like ZZ TOP before the synths or CREAM at their most rockin'. Vocals are a double-tracked, tossed-off afterthought, something to do during a verse and a chorus, to get us to the next sweet riff or righteous solo. It's the kind of bong-rattling rock and roll that's not deliberately throwback or retro, but comes off that way because so few people know how to rock it this way any more. These guys can dig into some blues ("She Drank That Wine") as well as they can deliver shaggy-headed psych-tinged throwdowns like the gloriously goofy "Man on the Road" or the garage-y raveup "Rambler". It's all tied together with that live, loose sound, all fuzzed-out and full of analog goodness, tumbling out of tattered amps like beer pouring in slo-mo into a frosted glass.

Reference points: THE ATOMIC BITCHWAX, DIXIE WITCH, MUDHONEY jamming with FU MANCHU, dudes with airbrushed art on their denim jacket that matches the side of their rusting Club Wagon van. And I like the sound of that just fine.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).