"Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora"

(Southern Lord)

01. Knife in the Safe Room
02. This Is the Truth
03. Timeless Numbers
04. None of This Is the Truth
05. The Flesh & the Flowers of Death
06. Those Who Survived
07. Another Headless Ruler of the Used
08. Widowed
09. Enter Oblivion
10. The Last of the Monuments
11. In the Name of Us All
12. Beneath It Sleeps

RATING: 9/10

DARKEST HOUR, one of the truly great modern metal bands, finds itself on its fourth label in as many albums. Quizzically the band is now on Southern Lord, the label apparently is expanding its horizons. Not that DARKEST HOUR can't roll here, but the band is hardly the same doomed-up, crunked-out, droning, blackened beast Southern Lord usually endorses. Cheers for that, since DARKEST HOUR has remained modestly heralded masters over a category they don't necessarily belong to, metalcore. Its latest album "Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora" is and is not a metalcore record, but more importantly, it's one of DARKEST HOUR's mightiest achievements to date.

With a squelching peal, DARKEST HOUR tears through "Knife in the Safe Room", rumbling and flailing like a pit berserker. The speed is no surprise, nor is the inevitable time-dropping breakdown (shoved toward the end of the song, nice touch), all of which is executed flawlessly. "Knife in the Safe Room" is a fast and exciting opener picked up by an even quicker velocity on "This Is the Truth". John Henry's raspy, yelping vocals are more sinister than on past albums, but the omnipresent spirit of melody—in this case, somber—gives "This Is the Truth" a refined touch. The slowdowns don't interfere, they provide an opportunity to display alluring guitar weaves and Aaron Deal's fertilizing bass, which sprouts into a bountiful guitar solo from Mike Schleibaum. Without contrast, save for more delicate textures outside of the clubbing thrash, DARKEST HOUR discharges a rebuttal number a couple songs later on the album, including "None of This Is the Truth". The latter is corked by one of the album's most exquisite climaxes.

"Timeless Numbers" is a trickier track with impressive progressions including Travis Orbin's blast bursts amid the marching intro lines. The beat smashing through the verses pants its way to the looming, ornate bridges and bursts into bellowing choruses. The solo section from Mike Schleibaum and Michael "Lonestar" Carrigan is as breathtaking as the watertight time changes, and this remains the theme throughout "Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora": resolute professionalism.

"The Flesh & the Flowers of Death" is structured in a fashion similar to its predecessors, yet its rampant infernos, regardless of what tempo is fanning them, chars right through the ear canals and targets the listener's soul. The guitar solos are as decorative as the poignant melodies. "Those Who Survived" and "Another Headless Ruler of the Used" reaffirm the album's songwriting primer, which can either be looked upon as fault or stoically playing to the band's strengths. The listener will be too caught up in DARKEST HOUR's whipping maelstroms to take much notice.

Smartly giving the listener a chance to inhale with the pirouetting instrumental, "Widower", if you weren't already a fan of Schleibaum and Carrigan, then you'll be fully sold here. DARKEST HOUR maintains the pause over its thrash bombs on "Enter Oblivion", which sturdily builds through skulking passages, raising massive, mid-tempo erections for "The Last of the Monuments". When the latter does burst, DARKEST HOUR checks things down with a prevailing, melodic tide. Once again this band electrifies by its intelligent progressions and pleasurable harmony.

If DARKEST HOUR after all this time still has to be considered a metalcore act, then metalcore itself must answer to them. No matter the pedigree of other veteran acts like ALL THAT REMAINS or KILLSWITCH ENGAGE (respect given to both), this is the band who rules this style. The blazing "In the Name of Us All" is far more monstrous and far more 'core than most of DARKEST HOUR's contemporaries. After all, this is a band originating from the same turf as hardcore legends MINOR THREAT, GOVERNMENT ISSUE and DAG NASTY. This album isn't just a statement piece: it's full-on reclamation of this band's honor.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).