"Eat Dog Eat"

(MVD Audio)

01. Deliver Me
02. Fade Out
03. Leave The Light On
04. Loving Fool
05. Dead And Gone
06. Sick As A Dog
07. Freedom Song
08. Do You Believe
09. Love I Need
10. On And On
11. Only If You Want It

RATING: 8.5/10

How many times have you read a review in which the riff described was referenced as something reminiscent of Fast Eddie Clarke's work in MOTÖRHEAD or in some cases FASTWAY? His axe tone and the little things he does, like the twist at the end or a riff or a certain way that the run is nuanced, can be heard in the playing of numerous rock and metal guitarists over the last few decades. You've seen him pop up more often this past decade, including his appearance as a guest player at MOTÖRHEAD's special "Live at Brixton Academy" performance or in interviews about the legendary trio's run of classic albums "Ace of Spades", "Bomber", "Overkill", and "Iron Fist". But we've heard not heard a new FASTWAY album since 1990. The wait is over, folks. New album "Eat Dog Eat" has arrived and it is a great one from top to bottom.

Eleven tracks of blues based hard rock, "Eat Dog Eat" fills the void with a slew of hot new riffs from Clarke and multiple memorable cuts featuring a singer with power and soul in Toby Jepson (ex-LITTLE ANGELS), also credited with bass and acoustic guitar, and an ace drummer in Matt E. "Deliver Me" and "Leave the Light On" are the standouts, the former a steady, big bottomed number with a fat Clarke riff and bluesy vocal from Jepson that is steeped in the British rock tradition, the latter a cut that struts with filth 'n fire. Standouts though they may be, there isn't a bum cut to be found here. In addition to Clarke's marvelous licks and leads, Jepson's bass playing is highlighted on several tracks, not the least of which includes "Do You Believe" and one with a modern sheen and catchy chorus called "Fade Out". Also notable for its blend of the old and new school is a keeper called "On and On". Another supremely catchy cut is "Sick as a Dog", which is also noteworthy for its sharp MOTÖRHEAD-esque riff. "Only if you Want It" is the quintessential feel-good track, while the six-minute "Dead and Gone" is a smashing success as a two-sided acoustic/electric gem, its second half exploding in Clarke's six-string boogie.

"Eat Dog Eat" is a FASTWAY album that you will want to hear in its entirety each and every time you play. That's a guarantee. Once "Eat Dog Eat" launches with opener "Deliver Me" you'll remain engrossed all the way through closer "Only if you Want it". Calling it a welcome return is an understatement. Get it now!


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).